Sanjiv Bajaj is 2017’s EY Entrepreneur of the Year


anjiv Bajaj, Managing Director, Bajaj Finserv, won the EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2017 award for solutions in lending, life and general insurance and wealth advisory, EY said in a press release here on Thursday.

The consulting firm also named nine other category winners for the Entrepreneur of the Year Program. E Sreedharan, widely acknowledged for his invaluable contributions transforming public transport in India, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. He was instrumental in the planning and executing the Kolkata Metro, Delhi Metro, Kochi Metro and Lucknow Metro.

Nithin Kamath, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Zerodha, won in the Start-Up category; Ajay Singh, Chairman and Managing Director, SpiceJet, was recognised in the business transformation category; Puneet Dalmia , Managing Director, Dalmia Bharat Group, was recognised in the manufacturing category; Satheesh Kumar KR, CMD, Enzen Global Solutions, was recognised in the services category while Rashesh Shah, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Edelweiss Group, was honoured for his work in financial services; Sunder Genomal, MD, Page Industries, was awarded in consumer products and retail; Glenn Saldanha, Chairman and Managing Director, Glenmark Pharmaceuticals, for life sciences and healthcare; Akhil Gupta, Executive Chairman, Bharti Infratel, was named entrepreneurial CEO, and Sumant Sinha, Founder Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ReNew Power Ventures, was honoured in energy, real estate and infrastructure segments.

A nine-member jury, led by Dilip Shanghvi, Managing Director, Sun Pharmaceuticals Industries, selected the winners. The other jury members included Jalaj Dani, Co-Promoter, Asian Paints; Harsh Goenka, Chairperson, RPG Enterprises; Naina Lal Kidwai, Chairman, Max Financial Services; Meher Pudumjee, Chairperson, Thermax Ltd; Renuka Ramnath, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Multiples Alternate Asset Management; Vijay Sankar, Deputy Chairman, Sanmar Group; MK Sharma, Chairman, ICICI Bank and Romesh Sobti, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, IndusInd Bank.

Original Source